Quinoa Stuffed Peppers

Tonight I made Mexican style Quinoa Stuffed Yellow Peppers…and it was good!

I cut one yellow pepper into quarters and steamed them for about 15 minutes or until they were tender.

I boiled the Quinoa in chicken stock until the stock was completely gone. While that was cooking, I sauteed onions, roma tomatoes, and half a jalapeno. Then I added the sauteed veggies with the Quinoa. Then I squeezed half a lime into the mixture.

Once the peppers where done steaming I plated them into a leaf style on the plate and topped them with the Quinoa mixture.

They were delicious!!

History or Quinoa: Quinoa originated in the Andean region of South America and derives from the Spanish spelling of the Quechua language. Quinoa grains contain essential amino acids like lysine and good quantities of calcium, phosphorus, and iron. The Inca’s held the crop as very sacred.

 

Leave a comment