Rhubarb Pie

I made a Rhubarb Pie tonight. And I must say that it tastes delicious =)

All I did was buy Rhubarb from the store, cut it up into cubes, & mix it with sugar. Now I didn’t make my own pie crust because I’m not that good at making it. Even in baking class I wasn’t that good, so I just bought the store brand pie crust that you buy in the freezer section. I set the heated the oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit and baked the pie for 20 minutes then turned the temperature down to 350 and just watched it until the crust was golden brown and the sugar melted and bubbled.

History of Rhubarb:

Rhubarb has culinary and medical uses. In culinary, rhubarb is mainly used in pies. Although Rhubarb is considered a veggie, in the U.S. it is considered a fruit.

Rhubarb in medicine is used as a laxative and are used quit regularly in Chinese medicine. Also rhubarb lowers blood glucose levels.

Leave a Reply

