My Health Journey

So I’ve been doing this Body Fat percentage loss challenge at my gym for the past 8 weeks and I came in 3rd place! I am very proud of myself for this because it’s the 1 thing I actually won (I never win anything), and I actually stuck to this “diet.” But in this article, I want to share my journey with all of you my diet plan.

First off, it wasn’t a fad diet like atkins or south beach, all I did was do an 80-20 diet, which for me was 80% vegetables and 20% proteins. I cut out all starchy carbs like rice, potatoes, dairy, alcohol, red meat, and wheat (except for the 1 piece of Sprouted bread every morning). I ate eggs every day (usually in 2 meals), I ate 6 mini meals a day (all under 300 calories each), and stayed either at or below 1385 calories a day. Being a pastry chef it can be hard, but it was for the most part easy.

First off I drank and I’m continuing to drink Fit Tea 28 day detox every day!

The first week I ate:
Breakfast: 1 egg and 1/4 of an avocado on sprouted toast
Morning snack: any flavor larabar
Lunch: vegetable stir fry (peas, snap peas, cauliflower crumbles, broccoli, onions, garlic, coconut oil, 1 egg scrabbled, soy sauce, and sambal.)
Afternoon snack: Vega protein shake with unsweetened almond milk
Dinner: Usually an apple (because we were busy during service at the restaurant
Evening snack: Baked Chicken wings tossed in a little salt

I ate the same breakfast everyday except once or twice I made protein over night oats and oat pancakes, and I changed the avocado to a teaspoon of coconut oil. My lunch changed to a whole grain wrap come the 2nd week filled with beans and turkey but then I went right back to stir fry. And I changed the larabar to a kind bar.

I was working out 3 times a week with a 90 minute class once a week. I worked out 6 times a week during Hell Week and got injured with a pinched sciatic nerve. Although I got injured I still continued to push myself even though I wasn’t allow to do the row machine and I’ve been instructed to permanently stay off it as well. So I stayed on the elliptical and in the weight room for the last 3 weeks of the challenge.

My husband said after the first week he saw a significant different in my body and that I looked way smaller in the waist area. I started seeing a difference after 4 weeks.

After the mid-point weigh in at 4 weeks, I started eating rice and potatoes again but kept it to 1/4 – 1/2 a cup when I did. I ate more whole proteins like chicken or turkey breasts. My dinner at work still stayed an apple or if I had left over kale salad from service I would eat that. I stopped eating chicken wings, and started eating my stir fry with white corn tortillas.

My calorie count did go up to 1400 after the mid-point weigh in (which didn’t change anything). I’m starting to slowly introduce foods back into my diet but I’m still going to keep it  80/20 because even though I’ve slimmed down a lot, I’m not quit there yet. I’m also only going to eat fried food once a month, pasta once a month, etc…

In the end I lost 7.1 Lbs in body weight, gained 1.8 Lbs of muscle, lost 9.2 Lbs of fat, lost 5.4% body fat, and lost 13.5 inches all together.

Throughout this entire experience I found out that weight loss wasn’t my problem. I needed to loose body fat. So I did and in the process I did loose weight but it’s fat that I need to loose more of. This has made me realize that it’s not weight that people need to be concerned about or concerned about loosing but body fat. To me it all starts there! I’m not a big girl (not even when I started this challenge) and I didn’t think I would loose as much as I did. But I’m so proud of myself and OrangeTheory Fitness has helped me with this journey and I owe it to them for keeping me on track. In the end it’s all worth it because you live a healthier happier life!

14906887_10153786398896991_1039318371380394171_n15003441_10153794080721991_2310335931585351325_o

Leave a Reply

