Chicken Korma

So I know it’s been a long time since I last posted….works just been busy (also thanksgiving and family….just busy all around). But today is a new post and I’m excited about it!

Indian food! Who doesn’t love at least some sort of Indian dish? My favorite is Korma. As you all have read and may know, I make family meal every tuesday at my work and I wanted Chicken Korma! Although Korma is supposed to be a “sweet and mild” dish, I like spicy and hot food, so I made this Korma my way and as always it was a huge hit!

Ingredients: 3 Tbsp butter, 1 cup curry powder (yellow), 1 whole onion (minced), 1 whole cauliflower (florets only), 8 chicken breast ( diced), 2 garlic cloves (minced), 16 oz coconut milk, 1 oz greek yogurt (plain), 1 cup heavy cream, 1 tsp turmeric powder, 1 tsp cardomom powder, 1 tsp corriander powder, 1 tsp cumin powder, 1/2 a nutmeg (grated), 4 oz tomato paste, 3 tsp sugar, 3 tsp grated ginger (or powder), 2 tsp salt, and 2 tsp pepper.

In a large pot, melt down the butter and saute the onion, garlic, and ginger until translucent. Add in the chicken and cook until there is no more pink on the meat. Stir in all the spices (curry powder, turmeric, cardomom, corriander, cumin, sugar, nutmeg, salt, and pepper) for about 2 minutes. Toss in the tomato paste, coconut milk, yogurt, and heavy cream. Bring to a boil and throw in the cauliflower.

Let cook at a simmer for 5 minutes (or until cauliflower is nice and tender).

Serve with nice warm Naan bread and steamed rice!

I loved this dish so much I think I might make is again! It’s spicy, filling, and perfect for your family or even for left overs (if you have any)!

Leave a Reply

