Oreo Ice Cream

It’s been a long time since I’ve made ice cream and I ABSOLUTELY miss it!! I’ve also been really busy so I could make it and when I was visiting my parents, my mom made some and it made me think about the days I used to make ice cream.

Ingredients: 2 cups heavy whipping cream, 2 cups half and half, 1.5 cups sugar, 2 Tbsp vanilla extract, 1/4 tsp salt, 3 eggs, and 2 cups crushed Oreo’s

Place the ice cream mixer in the freezer for at least 24 hours.

In a large sauce pan heat up the vanilla, cream, and half and half.

In a large bowl mix together the eggs, sugar, and salt.

Once the liquid in the sauce pan start to boil, slowly add 1 cup to the egg mixture to temper. Then add the egg mix to the rest of the liquid and bring to a simmer. Take the mixture off the heat, put into a large container and cover and place in the fridge for at least 4 hours.

Once the liquid is completely cool, take the ice cream maker out of the freezer and mix the liquid in it for at least 15 minutes.

During the last 5 minutes of the mixing, add the oreo’s. Take out of the mixer and place in the freezer for at least 4 more hours. And walla! You have Ice Cream.

This ice cream is a custard ice cream so it’s nice and creamy and with that crunch of the oreo’s in it…it’s perfect!!

20140516_201514_Richtone(HDR)

Leave a Reply

