Cherry Vanilla Cake

I’m bored today. I’ve already worked out, I’ve done laundry, and I have nothing to do so I fished around for what to make and I’ve come up with Cherry Vanilla Pudding Poke Cake. Yes I’m on a diet, but I’ve lost 4 Lb’s since last Saturday and I mean sweets are good once in a while right? I started wanting to make jello cake but then I also had pudding to use so why not incorporate both?! So I added vanilla pudding to homemade cake mixture and then after is cools I’ll add the cherry jello!

Ingredients-

Cake: 1 package Vanilla Pudding, 1 cup cake flour, 1 Tbsp white vinegar, 1 cup sugar, 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 Tbsp vanilla powder (or vanilla extract if you can’t find vanilla powder),  and 1 cup milk.

Jello: 1 package cherry jello, 1 cup boiling water, and 1 cup cold water.

Heat oven to 350 degrees.

In a bowl cream together the butter and sugar. Add the vanilla pudding. Next add the eggs one at a time until each is fully mixed in.  Add the milk. Now add the cake flour (add 1/2 cup at a time until each cup is mixed in fully), add vanilla powder/extract and white vinegar. Spray a 9×5 pan with non stick cooking spray and pour the batter in the pan. Lastly stick in the oven for 1 hour  or until a tooth pick comes out clean.

Let the cake cool!

While the cake is still cooling, make the jello mixture.

Boil 1 cup of water. Add the boiling water to the jello powder in a bowl and mix for 2 minutes or until all the sugar is dissolved. Mix in the cold water.

Take a fork and poke holes in the cooled cake. Pour the jello mixture over the cake and then stick in the fridge for 3 hours or more. After that ENJOY!

I thought about doing berry blue jello for the cake because I love the color blue but I thought cherry and vanilla would go better. Also I added the vinegar because that adds a more velvety texture to the cake, hence why red velvet cake always has cider vinegar in it. The way this cake makes the house smell….OMG it’s heavenly!!

This cake is moist, fluffy, and colorful! It’s a hit for any party and if you’re looking for a topping for this cake just add cool whip or any other whipped cream because that makes it so creamy.

This is literally the most moist cake I have ever made as well as eaten! It looks heavy like a pound cake but some how it’s not. It was amazingly great though!

20130812_195337

Leave a Reply

