Pho Bowl

Walking down the international food aisle in the store I decided I would make Pho tonight for dinner. Also I was at a chinese restaurant on date night with my boyfriend and I thought about having a noodle bowl but passed. I haven’t had many Pho dish’s but what I have had was pretty good! So I’m deciding to make my own and I think this would be more of an Asian Chicken and Pork Soup but either way it’ll be amazing!! I wish I had beef stomach and tendon for this dish but I couldn’t find any…

Ingredients: 4 cups chicken broth, 1/2 box of Thai Rice Noodles, 2 chicken breasts (cubed), 2 pork chops (sliced), 1 head of broccoli (chopped), 2 large carrots (sliced thinly),  1 bag of bean sprouts 2 tsp red curry paste, 1 garlic clove (chopped), 1/2 shallot (chopped), 1/2 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp coriander, 1 Tbsp singapore seasoning, and 1 tsp soy sauce.

First boil 4 cups of water to a boil. Add the rice noodles and turn the heat off and cook for 8 minutes. Then drain.

First saute the shallots, garlic, chicken, pork, and spices together until the chicken and pork are fully cooked. Add the carrots, broccoli, and bean sprouts. Stir in the red curry paste and soy sauce.

Heat up the chicken broth.

To assemble the Pho bowl, first grab a bowl and place the noodles on one side. Place the meat mixture on the other side and poor the broth over everything. Enjoy! This dish could have been a little spicier (on a scale of 1-5, 5 being the spiciest, I usually go for a 3). Also I think next time I’ll add some ginger to see if it adds more flavor.

This is the second bowl of Pho I’ve ever tried in my life and it turned out really good! I love Asian food as is and willing to try anything that isn’t fish related. But everything in the dish was prepared properly and if you don’t sip the broth in the end…well you’re missing out.

20130804_190101

Leave a Reply

