Spicey Steak Marinade

Sorry I’ve been AWOL lately, but I’ve been super busy with being in Israel and moving to Colorado. But it feels amazing to be cooking and blogging again!

Well it’s Memorial Day and what is one thing that you do on this day? BBQ or at least Grill! So I’ve decided that my boyfriend and I would have steak. I started using my normal dry rub steak marinade but then as I was watching ” Trisha’s Southern Kitchen,” she gave me an idea for a steak marinade. After the inspiration, the marinade went from dry rub to a wet rub. It smells like a BBQ sauce, but I’ll let you be the judge of that.

This recipe is for 2 whole steaks

Ingredients: 1/4 cup ketchup, 3 Tbsp soy sauce, 2 garlic cloves crushed, 1 Tbsp smoked spanish paprika, 1/2 tsp chili powder, 1 tsp marjoram, 1/4 tsp black coarse ground pepper, 1/2 tsp chipotle, 1/2 tsp cayenne, and 1 cup vegetable oil.

Whisk all the ingredients together.

Place the steaks in a marinading tub or a pan and cover the top side of the steaks with half the marinade. Then flip the steaks and cover with the rest of the marinade. (I recommend doing this in the morning and let marinade for a couple of hours, then cook for dinner). Cover with plastic wrap and/or foil and place in the fridge for a couple of hours.

Heat up the grill.

You can either wipe off the marinade like I did or you can let the marinade caramelize while cooking.

You could also use this as a BBQ sauce if you wanted.

20130527_201029

 

Leave a Reply

