Vegan Soup

Recently my brother-in-law made soup and it was basically a vegan soup. I suggested Seitan instead of the imitation beef he had. I like Seitan so why not? Yes this is basically a vegetable soup, but it’s good! Sometimes I think I could go vegetarian or even vegan. I mean I don’t each that much meat anyways so I could try it….it’s not as hard as you might think.

Ingredients: 6 yukon gold potatoes (diced), seitan, 1 leek, 2 carrots (diced), 2 celery, 1 fennel, 1 small can of tomato Paste, 4 pints vegetable broth, 1 cup of lentils, 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper, 1 tsp salt, 1 tsp pepper, 1/2 tsp marjoram, 1/2 tsp french thyme, and 1 bay leaf.

First clean and chop up the leek, fennel, celery, and carrots. Place the diced potatoes in a separate pot and cook to a boil for 5 minutes then immediately strain and put under cold water.

Turn the crock pot onto high and place the vegetables in it and mix with the tomato paste, then add the vegetable broth. Add the potatoes. Mix together and add the spices (cayenne, salt, pepper, marjoram, thyme, and bay leaf).

Cook the lentils separately, then add them to the soup.

Now I’m not big on vegetable soup, but this was good and I would make it again.

Leave a comment