Fancy Mac…..and Cheese!

Alright today we cleaned out the fridge and I totally forgot that I had a bunch of cheese in the back…and yes the cheese is still good! After my class I was going to the store anyways to buy ingredients for a cocktail and well I thought to myself that I was going to make mac and cheese. A couple days earlier I went to a bar downtown and had their mac and cheese and it really got me thinking, “I’m going to make a fancy mac and cheese.” Now I know I have a recipe for mac and cheese already on here, so I’m going to mix this recipe up a bit….

Ingredients: 1 cup Cheddar cheese, 1/2 cup Colby Jack cheese, 1 cup Gouda cheese, 1 package of Bacon, 1/2 cup Asiago cheese, 1/2 cup Romano cheese, 1 small bag of Peas, 1 box Panko crumbs, 1 pint of Cream, 2 cups Milk, 1 Tbsp Garlic Salt, 2 tsp White Pepper, 1 Tbsp Oregano, 1 Tbsp Basil, couple drops Tabasco Sauce, Cavatappi Pasta, and 1/4 cup Sour Cream.

Heat oven to 375 degrees

First fry up the bacon and cup into crumbs.

Start boiling the water for the pasta. While the pasta is cooking, start making the cheese sauce.

In a large sauce pan, mix together the milk, cream, cheddar, colby jack, gouda, asiago, and romano cheeses. Bring to a boil while stirring constantly. Add the garlic salt, basil, oregano, white pepper, and tabasco sauce. Lastly add the sour cream.

Once all is cooked combine with the peas in a large hotel pan or aluminum lasagna pan. Cover completely with the panko crumbs. Place in the oven and cook for about half an hour or until golden brown.

 

Leave a Reply

