Thyme Garlic Roasted Chicken

I have lost 7.3 Lb’s  since I started my diet a week and a half ago! The food I’m eating helps too. My secret: I try to eat under 1000 calories a day and I try to burn off close to 500 calories when I workout almost everyday. And this recipe is 329 calories on it’s own but you get all the nutrients you need!

This dish today is probably one of my best chicken dishes I have ever made! The spice combination on the chicken is impeccable and the mashed potatoes are amazing as well and the vegetable medley, well their my favorite types of veggies so I couldn’t go wrong.

Ingredients: 1 chicken thigh (with skin), 6 yukon gold potatoes (cut into 1/4’s), 1/4 cup shredded romano cheese, 1/3 cup milk, 1.5 tsp butter, 2 oz chopped carrots, 2 oz chopped yellow squash, and 2 oz broccoli florets.

Chicken Spice: 1/4 tsp chipotle, 1/4 tsp french thyme, 1/4 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp white pepper, 1/8 tsp cumin, 1/8 tsp cinnamon, 1/8 tsp coriander,  and 1/4 tsp smoked spanish paprika. 1/4 cup chicken stock and 1 garlic clove crushed.

Heat oven to 400 degrees.

Mix together all the spices for the chicken except the chicken stock and garlic. Rub the spice mix under the skin of the chicken. In a small single sized roasting pan place the crushed garlic clove in the middle. Pour the chicken stock in the pan and place the chicken thigh on top of the garlic clove. Place in the oven and cook for about 40 minutes.

Start boiling the potatoes. Once the potatoes are soft enough, drain and place in kitchen aid mixer. Add the milk, butter, and cheese and mix with the paddle attachment until close to being as smooth as possible.

Now steam the vegetables for 5 minutes.

Now plate everything all together! The smell of the chicken is amazing and surprisingly not that spicy either with the chipotle. And the cinnamon brings out the natural sweetness of the chicken.

Leave a Reply

