Country Fried

Last night I had an idea to make Country Fried Veal, only because I have veal in my freezer. So I thought about it more today and I decided I would make it. And like any Southern cook, nothing goes to waste….not even the pan drippings. And with the pan drippings I made country gravy! I mean you can’t have Country Fried anything without Country Gravy right?

Ingredients: Veal chops, 1 egg, 1 cup milk, 1 cup flour, 1/3 cup canola oil, 2 Tbsp flour, 1 cup milk, and salt & pepper to taste

In a bowl whisk together the egg and milk. In a bowl measure out the 1 cup flour and add some salt & pepper.

Heat the oil in a saute pan.

Take the veal chop and dip it in the milk mix, then the flour, and then the milk again. Once the oil is hot, place the coated veal chop into the pan and fry for about 2 minutes on both sides. Once all veal chops are done frying, place them on a plate and cover to keep warm.

Keep the pan drippings!

With the rest of the stuff left in the pan, put the heat on medium and add the 2 Tbsp of flour and whisk together. Cook for about 2 – 3 minutes then add the other cup of milk slowly. Keep whisking until the gravy thickens up. Add the salt &  pepper to taste.

Country Fried Chicken and Steak are great! And I know, why would I ruin such a good piece of meat by using veal? Well quite frankly it’s the only recipe that came to mind. Veal may be delicate, but sometimes you have to southern food up a bit.

Leave a Reply

