Tamales!

Watching the tv show “The Chew” gets me pumped up even more about food and they do have some great ideas that I know eventually I would get around to for cooking. But the other day Carla and Clinton of  “The Chew” were making tamales and well I’ve never made tamales or even eaten one so I decided I would make them! I thought to myself that maybe I should wait until my jalapeno plants matured so I could make the tamales with my red jalapeno pesto, but I didn’t feel like waiting until September. Plus my sister Erica sometimes asks me if I have any Mexican or Spanish dishes that she could make seeing as that is her favorite cuisine.

So I’ve decided to dedicate this recipe to my sister Erica!

Recipe ~

Masa: 1 cup Masa (corn flour), 1/4 tsp salt, 1/2 cup chicken stock, and 1/4 cup lard

Filling: 1 chicken breast, 1/2 Tbsp chipotle, 1/2 Tbsp cayenne, 1 Tbsp salt, 1 Tbsp pepper, 1/2 Tbsp smoked spanish paprika, and Salsa Verde

Additional: Corn Husks, Cheese (Mexican mix), a steamer, and food processor

Mix together the chipotle, cayenne, paprika, salt, and pepper and coat the chicken with it. Marinade for at least 4 hours then grill until tender. Once the chicken is done grilling, cut into thin strips.

Sock the corn husks in some warm water. In a food processor mix together the masa and salt then add the lard until flaky. Mix in the chicken stock until a “dough” is formed. Take a corn husk, flatten it out and place 2 Tbsp of masa mixture and spread out until flat. Add the chicken, cheese, and salsa verde. Fold together add another husk to make sure all sides are sealed off. The place in the steamer and steam for 30 minutes. Then take out, unwrap, and enjoy!

These were really great! For the first time making tamales, they turned out amazing and tasted just the same.

This dish is easy, extremely simple, and super cheap as well! I was thinking last night that a Tamale Food Truck would be perfect to have in a city because of the efficiency of the dish…I would call the business “Hot Tamales!” Maybe one day this will happen who know’s where cooking is going to get me in the future. There are so many possibilities for me to choose from.

(the pictures may not look the best but trust me the tamales were amazingly good!)

    

Leave a Reply

