Apple Crisp

I woke up this morning and automatically thought about Apple Crisp. I just have the biggest craving for this dish and I had so many ideas for it. Later on during the year I will probably make a different version of apple crisp with a secret ingredient I can’t tell you until I’ve made it. But this recipe is simple and delicious! It brings me back to when I would make it with my mom. Crisp flavorful apples, brown sugar, cinnamon, and butter. It’s a dish that has you remembering the old days when things were simple. Plus it’s easier then pie and it’s a dish everybody can agree on.

Ingredients:

Filling: 1 bag fuji apples (sliced and peeled), 1 cup brown sugar, 2 Tbsp cinnamon, 1 tsp chinese five spice, 1/8 tsp nutmeg, 2 Tbsp butter

Topping: 1.5 cups oats, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup white sugar, 6 Tbsp butter, 1 Tbsp cinnamon, and 1 cup flour

Heat oven to 350 degrees

In a large saute pan melt the 2 Tbsp of butter then saute the apple slices for about 5 minutes. Transfer to a large bowl and add the rest of the filling ingredients until mixed all together and then transfer to the pan you’re going to use to make the dish.

In another bowl combine all the topping mix together and sprinkle over the apple mix until the apples are fully covered. Place in the oven and cook for about 40 minutes or until the crumb topping is golden brown!

Now if only I made some homemade ice cream this dish would be absolutely perfect! I think that’ll be my next recipe. An ice cream that is different but oh so forever good.

Leave a Reply

