Buffalo Sliders

I love Buffalo! No not buffalo sauce or Buffalo New York (Even I do wanna go there for Labor day for the Wing Festival). I’m talking about meat is lean and tasty. I was watching Giada De Laurentiis one day and she was making lamb sliders for her daughter. I thought to myself: well I have buffalo meat in the freezer so why not do my own version of sliders? Yes yes I know this is kind of a typical burger recipe but I like adding twists to the food I make.

Ingredients: 1 Lb buffalo ground meat, 2 Tbsp ketchup, 1/2 an onion (minced), 1/4 tsp chipotle powder, 1/4 tsp smoked spanish paprika, 1/8 tsp dried chili flakes, and salt & pepper to taste. A block of Pecorino Romano cheese or any type of cheese of your liking cut into 1 inch squares.

In a large bowl mix together all the ingredients except the cheese. Grab a palm full of the mix and roll into a ball. Make an whole in the center, but not all the way through and place a square of cheese into the middle. Then cover the cheese and roll back into a ball (add more meat to cover the cheese). Then just grill!

I ate mine on Hawaiian buns because of the size of the sliders, but if you can find a slider bun then use that.

No the reason why I used Pecorino Romano cheese is because I like the saltyness that it brings to a dish. And the sweetness of the hawaiian bun goes perfectly with the buffalo meat. This is a good dish of anybody. Plus buffalo is a healthier alternative to beef.

Leave a Reply

