Cheesy Broccoli Carrot Soup

Remember a while back when I said I would make cheesy broccoli soup? Well I finally did it! It’s creamy and crunchy and kinda cheesy. I mean to me the cheesy part of it reminded me of the kraft mac & cheese cheese mix. It’s actually a really easy recipe. And yes I would make it again!

Ingredients: 4 oz Butter, 4 oz Flour, 1 pint of 2% milk, 1/2 package of kraft sharp cheddar singles, 1/3 package of mild sharp cheddar bar, 1 head of broccoli florets (chopped to prefered size), 1 carrot chopped into small squares, salt & pepper to taste.

Fist make the roux. Melt the butter in the 2 quart pan. Once all the butter is melted add the flour. Mix for about 10 minutes or until it boils and the flour taste is all cooked out. Next slowly add the milk. Let cook for about 5 minutes while whisking frequently. Then add the cheeses until all is melted and incorporated into the soup mix. The add the vegetables. Let cook on medium heat for about 5 minutes then turn off the heat and let the vegetables soften for about 10 minutes.

Now you can or not add the carrots. I did because I thought it would sweeten the dish up just a tad and it gives the soup a little bit of a different flavor and it adds color. I mean who doesn’t want to eat something colorful?

I never thought I would use kraft singles in any of my cooking but I did. Like I said in the beginning, this recipe is super easy and it’s great for adults and kids!

Leave a Reply

