Italian Pizza

I woke up this morning and automatically thought I wanted to make pizza today. The recipe I have for my pizza is from Naples Italy! I took a class in high school from a guy who flew in from Naples to teach us this recipe and I’ve never used another pizza recipe since. This isn’t your usual pizza because I don’t really use pizza sauce…I use pesto! Usually I would make a full batch of dough but I decided to make a half batch.

(You’re going to want a gram scale)

Ingredients:

Dough: 125 g flour, 1/4 packet (a little but more then 1/2 tsp) active dry yeast, 1.5 tsp olive oil, 1/2 tsp salt, and 1/2 cup water

Pesto Sauce: 1 cup fresh basil, 2 garlic cloves, 1/3 cup fresh grated parmesan cheese, 1/3 cup grana padana cheese grated, 1/3 cup pecorino romano cheese grated, 1/4 cup flat leaf parsley, 1/3 cup olive oil, 1/4 cup pine nuts, and salt & pepper to taste.

A block of mozzarella cheese sliced and grilled chicken.

To make the dough, place the flour in a bowl and make a well in the middle. Add the rest of the ingredients into the middle of the flour and slowly mix from the middle out until the dough forms a ball. Then knead the dough. (add more flour or water if needed). You want the dough to be smooth. Then cut an X in the middle of the dough and let raise (double in size).

For the sauce, use a food processor and chop the garlic first. Then add the basil, pasley, and cheese blend until chopped and mixed together. While the mixer is going slowly incorporate the olive oil. Stop the mixer and add the pine nuts and continue to mix for 25 seconds. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Heat oven to 425 degrees.

Roll out your dough and start building your pizza. Place in the oven and cook for about 10 minutes. Enjoy!

I will only eat chicken on a pizza like this. I know I’m picky but this is one of my favorite things to eat!

Leave a Reply

