Gluten Free Pizza

My aunt is trying to be gluten free so since I’m making pizza today I had to make a gluten free crust separate for her. I learned today the even if your gluten free you can have some yeast, which was surprising to me. I basically used my Italian pizza recipe but I altered the recipe to fit gluten free. Also i infused a sun dried tomato basil pesto mix into the dough.

Ingredients: I suggest getting a gram scale.

Dough: 125 g brown rice flour, 1/4 packet or a little bit more then 1/2 a tsp of active dry yeast, 1.5 tsp olive oil, 1/2 tsp salt, and about 1/2 a cup of water.

Pesto: 3.5 oz sun dried tomato, 1 cup basil, 1/4 cup parmesan grated, 1/4 cup pecornio romano cheese grated, 1/4 cup grana padana cheese grated, 1/4 cup flat leaf parsley, and 1/4 cup olive oil. (you want a paste to form)

In a bowl add the flour and make a well in the middle. Add the rest of the dough ingredients in the middle and mix from the inside out until the dough forms a ball.

In a food processor add all of the sun dried tomato mix, except the olive oil, and pulse until all is chopped. Slowly incorporate the olive oil until a paste is formed.

Scoop the sun dried tomato mix into the pasta dough and knead together. (add more flour or water as needed).

Sauce: 1/2 cup heavy cream, 1/2 cup whole milk, 1/2 a stick of cream cheese, 1/2 a cup of grated parmesan, and a sprinkle of garlic salt. Bring to a boil then turn off heat.

Italian Sausage (cooked) and Mozzarella cheese

Heat the oven to 425 degrees

Roll out the dough on a pizza pan/stone to about 1/8 of an inch thick. Add the sauce and spiral until the sauce covers every inch of the pizza. Add the sausage and then sprinkle the cheese on top. Cook for about 10-15 minutes. Let cook for about 2 minutes. Cut and Enjoy!

I was surprised by this pizza. I mean gluten free food items don’t have much taste but with the infusion I made the dough was really good, and with everything else on this pizza….it was AMAZING! I would definitely make this pizza again!

(Yes I know it looks a little weird in the picture but trust me, it was really tasty!)

Leave a Reply

