Lamb Shanks

I watched an episode of Iron Chef America and the secret ingredient was Yogurt and Chef Michael Simon made Lamb Shanks and that made me have the biggest craving for them! I already love lamb but I’ve only ever had it for Easter at my parents house. I decided I would try to cook lamb by myself and I decided to use to pressure cooker.

Ingredients: 2 Lamb Shanks

Marinade: 8 oz Greek Yogurt, 2 Tbsp salt, 2 Tbsp white pepper, 1 Tsp Smoked Spanish Paprika, 1/2 tsp Granulated Garlic, 1 tsp Coriander, 1 tsp Cumin, and 1/8 tsp Chipotle powder.

Cooking indredients: 2 Celery Stalks (cut on a bias), 2 Carrots (cut on a bias), 1 Spanish Onion (chopped), and 1 quart Vegetable Stock.

A Pressure Cooker, Saute Pan, Canola Oil.

Mix all the marinating ingredients together except the yogurt and rub on the lamb shanks. In a gallon plastic bag scoop half the yogurt in it and place the rubbed lamb in the bag. Scoop the rest of the yogurt on top of the shanks and close the bag and mix the yogurt into the shanks. Let marinade for about 5-6 hours or even 24 hours.

Place the cut carrots, onions, and celery in the pressure cooker and the vegetable stock as well.

Once the shanks have marinaded for the time allowed, heat up a cup of canola oil in a saute pan and sear the shanks on all sides. Once the shanks are seared on all sides, place in the pressure cooker. Close the lid and let it go for about 35 – 40 minutes.

I have never had lamb this tender before in my life! I mean the lamb I’ve had on Easter is really good but if you want fall off the bone tenderness I would go for this recipe!

Leave a Reply

