Braised Rabbit

Went to the farmers market today and I found some rabbit! I was kind of excited because I have only had rabbit once before and I wanted to try some french cooking as well. So I called my mom while I was at the store to get some ideas on how to braise rabbit.

Ingredients: 1   2.5 lb rabbit, 1/2 cup flour, 1 tsp marjoram, 1/4 tsp french thyme, 1/4 tsp white pepper, 1/4 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp smoked spanish paprika, 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper, 1/8 tsp granulated garlic, 1/3 cup semi-dry white wine, 1 cup chicken stock, 1/4 cup heavy cream, 4 large mushrooms chopped, and 2 large carrots chopped

Heat oven to 325 degrees

First de-bone the rabbit as best as you can and then cut into medium sized cubes and put into a large bowl. In a separate bowl mix together the flour, marjoram, thyme, pepper, salt, cayenne, paprika, and garlic and then add and mix into the rabbit pieces.

In a large 1 gallon pot, heat 1/4 cup vegetable oil and then add the rabbit pieces and saute for 2 minutes on medium heat. Add the white wine, heavy cream, and chicken stock and cook for about 5 minutes then add the mushrooms and carrots. Lastly cover the pan and place in oven and let cook for about half an hour.

I was so impressed with myself on this dish because it turned out so amazingly well! For those of you who have not ever tried rabbit, I highly recommend trying this recipe because it’s just that good.

Leave a Reply

