Jalapeno Pesto

So since I have 2 jalapeno plants and they have turned red and I have no way or really smoking them to make chipotle’s, I decided to make Jalapeno Pesto!

I made Jalapeno Pesto today because we have the Nations Cup Culinary Competition at my Culinary Institute and the Mexican Team came. I started talking to the Mexican Team Coach Chef Alejandro Martinez and he helped me with the pesto recipe. I wanted this recipe to be as Mexican or Spanish as possible and Chef Alejandro really helped me with that.

Ingredients: 10 red jalapeno’s, 1/4 cup Manchego Cheese. 1/4 cup parmesan cheese, 1 cup olive oil, 1.5 cups dry unsalted peanuts, 10 leaves cilantro, 5 leaves torn basil, 1 tsp lime juice, and salt & pepper to taste.

In a food processor, chop the peanuts until fine. Then de-seed Jalapeno’s. Next add the jalapeno’s, cilantro, basil, and both cheeses. Blend all together. Stop and add the salt and pepper. While still blending together add the lime juice and olive oil.

(now it may look like dog food, but it does taste really good.)

CAUTION IS VERY HOT!

Leave a Reply

