Cheesy Bacon Baked Potato Chowder

Last year I came up with a soup recipe that had bacon, sharp cheddar, and baked potatoes. I wanted to make this soup because people made it at school in the cafe and I absolutely fell in love with it and so I came up with my own recipe. Now this recipe that I made tonight is a little different then the one I made last year but I’m sure it’s just as good!

Ingredients: 2 baked potatoes (peeled), 1/2 an onion, 2 large chopped carrots, 1 rutabaga chopped, 1.5 cups sharp cheddar, 5 slices of bacon, 1 Tbsp butter, 2 Tbsp flour, 2 tsp sour cream, and 2 cups milk

First bake the potatoes at 400 degrees for 45 minutes. Let cool to room temperature.

After the potatoes have been cooled, chop up the bacon and fry until just browned. Add the chopped carrots, onion, and rutabaga and saute. Add the butter and let melt then add the flour and mix together. After the roux is made, add the milk and let boil. Right as the soup begins to boil add the cheese and let melt also add the sour cream. Lastly, chop the potatoes into cubs and add to the soup and bring to a boil once more. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Now I know that in this recipe I call it a soup and in the title I call it a chowder. Well the matter of fact is, is that it is actually a chowder seeing as it’s milk based.

History: Chowder is a generic name for a wide variety of seafood and/or vegetable stew or soups that often contain milk based products.

Leave a Reply

