Chimichurri Sauce

So lately I’ve been feeling a little Spanish (I’ve been singing and listening to Spanish music all week…) so I thought I would make something that was kinda Spanish like. And since we had Skirt Steaks in the freezer I was excited to make Gaucho Steaks! But this is mainly about the Chimichurri Sauce that I made.

Ingredients: 6 garlic cloves, 1/2 cup onion, 2 cups fresh parsley, 1/4 cup fresh cilantro, 1/4 cup fresh oregano, 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil, 3 Tbsp white or red wine vinegar, 2 tsp smoked spanish paprika, 1 tsp cayenne pepper, 1 small RED jalapeno, 1 Tbsp lime juice, and salt and pepper to taste.

In a food processor blend the garlic and onion until finely chopped. Then add the parsley, cilantro, oregano, olive oil, vinegar, paprika, cayenne, and the lime juice and blend until just finely chopped. Cut the jalapeno into sections and add to the food processor and blend again. Now remove from the processor and into a bowl. Lastly add the salt and pepper and mix in with a spatchula.

Now if you have skirt steaks or flank steaks add the chimichurri sauce to them and marinade for at least a good 2 hours or as long as you would like (I prefer to marinade my meats up to 24 hours but since I made the sauce tonight and the steaks are already defrosted and we’re having the Gaucho Steaks tonight…I can only marinade for 2 hours or so.) Or you can use the sauce as a condiment.

The first time I ever had Chimichurri Sauce was when I was in Miami Florida at South Beach. We went to a Cuban restaurant named Versailles and I absolutely fell in Amor (Love in Spanish) with this dish.

History: Chimichurri developed in Argentina and is a vibrant green sauce although it can be red as well and is used as a marinade for grilled meats and a condiment for dishes.

One thought on “Chimichurri Sauce

Leave a Reply

