Wonton Soup

 

Wonton Soup is so comforting. I mean who doesn’t like meat and veggies stuffed inside a little pillow or dough and cooked in chicken broth?! This recipe I came up with was amazing. It tasted just like I remember when I was younger and my family and I went to the Chinese restaurant.

The way I made Wonton Soup was I finely chopped a 1 lb pork tenderloin. I then mixed it with 2 Tablespoons green onion, 1 Teaspoon freshly grated ginger, 1 Tablespoon oyster sauce, 1 Tablespoon soy sauce, 1 Teaspoon sugar, 1 Teaspoon cornstarch, and white pepper to taste.

 

I then spooned the mixture into the wontons wrappers,just enough mix though so that the wrapped was completely closed and nothing could get out. To make sure that the wrappers would stay together, I dipped my finger very lightly into some water and moistened the edges of the wrapper the I folded the sides over the meat mix.

 

I then took the Wontons and cooked them in boiling water until the floated to the top. Then I spooned out the Wontons and filled another pan with 5 Lbs chicken stock and boiled that and then re-added the wontons until the chicken stock came to another boil. After all that the soup is read to eat!

 

 

 

Wonton Soup History:

 

A Wonton is a type of dumpling commonly found in Chinese Cooking. In Cantonese, Wonton means pillow cloud, because in the soup it looks like a cloud in the water/stock. Every part of China has it’s own version of wontons. Korea has dim sim or steamed dumpling that are very similar to the Cantonese wontons. You can baiscally fill wontons with anything, but mostly wontons are filled with a shrimp mix or pork mix.

Leave a Reply

